Japanese Baked Cream Cheese Cake

img_1405img_1419img_1445img_1440img_1461In previous posts, I said I was moving away from sweet foods to acquiring more of a savory palate. That still holds true, however, one dessert still holds a strong position in my heart. That would be the Japanese Baked Cream Cheese Cake. For those who haven’t tried it, the texture of it is somewhere between a sponge-cake and a baked cheesecake. It isn’t as dry as a regular sponge cake nor is it as creamy and dense as a baked cheesecake. If done properly, the texture should be fluffy and light.

Over the years, I have bought my Japanese Baked Cream Cheese Cakes from Grand Taipei and Carrington Cake Shop, both in Box Hill. Only recently have I attempted to make one own. I guess I was inspired by HoneyBeeSweets after seeing her mouth-watering cakes on Instagram and on her Blog.

The first time I attempted a Japanese Baked Cream Cheese Cake, it was completely off the top of my head. I had no idea what I was doing. I was just using instinct and was adding in ingredients I thought were relevant. The result was a very dense and heavy cake.

img_20160106_191752
Photo | Baking blind without a recipe and the result is a flat and very dense looking cake. On a positive note though, I really like the blueberry swirl I did (all you need to do is boil a handful of blueberries with a tiny bit of water and add some lemon juice until it starts to thicken. After, blob a little on the surface of the raw cake mixture and use the pointed edge of a knife to swirl away at any design you fancy).

After some misses, I decided it was time to find a proper recipe and follow it. The recipe I like best is by Adam Liaw,winner of the second series of MasterChef Australia. Check out the recipe here.

Ingredients used in Adam Liaw’s Japanese Souffle Cheesecake Recipe.

Cream cheese custard

  • 1 cup milk
  • 250 g cream cheese
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 25 g caster sugar
  • 60 g plain flour
  • 15 g cornflour
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

Meringue

  • 6 egg whites
  • 100 g caster sugar

In terms of ingredients, the first time I saw Adam’s recipe I was like “OMG 6 eggs”. Usually when I make cakes in general, I use about 3.Β  Never would I have even thought to use as much as 6. This is were the miracle is. You need a lot of eggs in order for the cake to rise, be fluffy, and light. That’s why the whipping of the egg whites into the meringue part is a very crucial step. If you are like me and used only 3 eggs, the overall cake is going to be flat and dense.

Another crucial point is the folding part. When you fold the cream cheese yolk mixture into the meringue you have to be so careful not to let air in because that will deflate the meringue and cause the mixture to go runny. If that happens, the cake isn’t going to rise, nor will it be fluffy and light. img_1436img_1459img_20170105_164336_775

img_1429
Photo | Three eggs was a fail but six eggs and ta-dah

Overall, I am happy I found Adam Liaw’s Japanese Baked Cream Cheese recipe. Although I had the basic stepsΒ  correct, my proportioning was very off (especially the eggs), so it was good I came across this recipe to helping me bake the perfect cake for afternoon tea.

Side note: Why not be creative and add your own twist to the recipe? For me, I added in blueberries. Alternately, for you Matcha lovers, why not add some green-tea powder and turn it into a Japanese Baked Matcha Cheese Cake instead mmmmmm.img_20170105_164029_258Do note this dense (failed) looking matcha cake was made before I found Adam’s recipe LOL And below, is when I wanted to be creative and see what would happen if I poured half the matcha batter on top of the original batter :pimg_1748img_1741img_1733img_1467img_1468

Leave a Reply

