Merry Christmas 2016

img_9465img_9451aimg_7510aAs I say every year, I can’t believe it is Christmas again. Reading back on last year’s Christmas 2015 blog post, it is terrifying to think another year has gone by. The December-February period is always my favourite time of year, so I am going to make sure this year counts.

This year’s Christmas was at my aunt’s house. About a week or two before Christmas arrives, my aunt always sends a menu to everyone about what will be on this year’s festive menu.

The 2016 Christmas Menu

img_9478
Photo | The family special Fried Chicken Wings with Lime (left); my fave Cauliflower and Broccoli Cheese (Right).
img_9485
Photo | Wombok Salad
img_9484
Photo | Four Grain Salad with Pomegranate Seeds
img_9483
Photo | Potato Salmon Salad
img_9480
Photo | Roast Lamb
img_9481
Photo: RoastΒ  Veggies
img_9487
Photo | Chicken and Veggie Stir-fry with CashewΒ 
img_9489
Photo | Home made Fried Rice
img_9482
Photo | Lasagne

Dessert

img_9471
Photo | Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

img_9135

img_9020
Photo | Chocolate Pavlova with fresh cream and summer berries
img_9501
Photo | Two Tier Mango Jelly

img_9517We always say to cut down on the number of desserts yet it never happens as more and more spectacular desserts come to the show each year. This year we had a Baked Cheesecake with raspberry coulis, Chocolate Pavlova Stack, Chocolate Mousse, Mango Jelly, and Choc Cupcakes. I felt food comatized by the end. I mean, I was pretty okay after the main meals. Then dessert came and it completely knocked me out. Maybe that’s a sign I am definitely moving away from the sweet tooth that I used to be, to embracing a more savory palate.

Last year, my contribution was a Key Lime Tart. Can you guess what I made this year? Most people would think I made a dessert because that is what I am good at. Instead, I opted for a savory option. My contribution this year was the Poached salmon and Potato salad with chives, gherkin, egg and a creamy dressing of mayo, sour cream and whole grain mustard.

The art of Gift-Giving

img_9473Like last year’s Christmas post, I don’t really have a Christmas wish-list. I just want to be happy and healthy. But the tradition in the family has always been to give presents to the kiddies. Technically speaking, I am way past the age range considered to be a kid, but in the family’s eyes, I will always be one, so that means I still get presents. This year I received lots of active-wear (YESS!), PJs, some work-style clothes, and body lotion.

We also received gifts from our next door neighbor. Every time Christmas and Easter come along, they always give us a generous amount of baked goods. This year was no exception.I am so thankful for small gifts like these.Β  Dad’s work friend also gave us wayyyy to many biscuits too. Here’s some photos.img_9398a

img_9409aimg_9393aimg_9408aA Year in Review

I realized I got the order of my blog posts wrong. Strictly speaking, the Christmas post should have come first before the Year in Review post. Rules are meant to be broken, so check out my 2016 Review post here.

How was your 2016? Did you achieve the things you wanted to achieve? What are some things you are looking forward to doing in 2017?

Leave a Reply

