Life Update 4# My first photography exhibition

img_6746img_20161101_213543img_6764Two weeks ago, I was invited to Offset Journal’s 16th year launch at MetroWest in Footscray. It was my first ever photography exhibition, so I did not know what to expect. Making the most out of the situation, I went all-out and printed off DIY business card and flyers to hand out. In retrospect, I think the actual process of designing the cards and watching them come to life was more fun and exciting than actually handing them out on the night haha. Check out Offset’s 16th year journal here.

The event began at 7:00pm and I clearly underestimated the peak-hour traffic. What was meant to be only a twenty minute drive from the city  ended up being a one hour stop-and-start drive. We eventually made it by 7:45pm. All in good timing because speeches and presentations began not long after. We received a formal welcome from the Offset Team, the mayor, and various other guest speakers such as Mischa Merz, and Woman’s Circus.img_6308img_6283img_6296img_6282img_6284img_6291I was actually taken aback by the whole experience. I didn’t expect the exhibition to be that formal, nor did I expect there to be so many people. The hall was actually rather elegant, with artwork displayed against black and white backdrops, and pretty blue fairy lights adorning the entrance. People  of all life stages attended the exhibition (and there I was, thinking it would mainly be university students like myself).  There was champagne going around and canapes like finger sandwiches, meatballs, sushi, bread with dips etc…img_6300img_6288The artwork on display ranged from beautiful canvas paintings, to very intricate black ink drawings, to water-paintings, multi-media, and photography, of course!  Can you see where my four photos are displayed :p ?img_6314img_6311

img_6293
Photo | My four photos on display (Top left: Into the Woods, top right: Descend, bottom left: Entwine, bottom right: Fields of Gold)

Looking back at my journey so far, what began purely as a hobby back in 2007 has lead me to so many places, from online interviews, to publications, to exhibitions, to features on blogs etc… This is only just the start. Where else can I take my photography? The thought of starting my own small business has always been at the back of my mind. I guess the main thing holding me back is: what will be my product or service? Even a child would know that selling photos in a frame is not overly unique and the market for it is very small. It could take a year, it could take twenty before I think of a sustainable, unique business idea, but I will keep thinking and trying 😀img_0612img_8333aimg_8307

img_8297a
Photo | Some of my many prints from over the years. If interested in buying, please contact me for prices.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. LitaKino says:

    I was hoping to read a post about your first exhibition so exciting. It does look like a fancy event and your photos looked amazing !!!! Glad you had a great experience and fully support your photography do you still have prints available to buy btw?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. flabnbone says:

      Awww thanks so much 💜 Yes I do have plenty of prints still available as shown in the pictures posted in the blog.

      If you would like a print of another image I have taken, let me know and I can get that organised. Also let me know if you prefer a print of a particular size.

      Please contact me at karleinkwong@gmail.com if you have any questions about prices and logistics 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

