Cherry Blossoms @ Warrandyte

IMG_4224aThe warmer seasons are coming and it is around about now each year that I think to myself, the best months of the year are nearly here. Hello summer, hello holidays and hello roadtrips. I am not sure if other people are like this, but ever since I was old enough to appreciate the weather (haha), I have categorized the months/seasons of the year into four stages. For me, December-January-February are the best times of the year because days are longer, summer is here and school is out. It is also festive season with Christmas and New Year celebrations all around.  March-April-May is a transitional time where I am longing for days to stay warm but inevitably, winter is on its way and roadtrip season is coming to an end. It is also the time when university starts. June-July-August are my least favourite months of the year because it is exam time, the weather is cold, it’s raining, it’s windy, and I find myself indoors all the time. September-October-November is an okay time because cherry blossoms are blooming and days are getting warmer (the only downside is, it’s exam season again haha.) Seeing that I am on the topic of cherry blossoms, that brings me to today’s post: the beautiful cherry blossoms on Harris-Gully Road in Warrandyte ❤

IMG_3590a

IMG_3591bFirstly, I just wanted to say, I love living where I live. I probably have mention this in another blog post but I wanted to say it again. I love that I am surrounded by local cafes and shopping centers, making life that much more convenient but I also love that I live so close to nature, with rolling hills and empty grass fields just 15 min away. For example, when I discovered this cherry blossom garden so close to home I was literally screaming in excitement. It’s like having a mini japan right near my doorstep.

IMG_4239bIMG_4322bIMG_4335bHarris-Gully Road is what I consider a rural kind of road in a not too rural area. There’s Aumann’s Fruit store selling local produce and just further down is the beautiful cherry blossom garden  (also owned by Aumann).

Redhill Cherry Farm in Mornington Peninsula and Cherryhill Orchards in Wandin open up their farms for one weekend during spring, attracting visitors from all around town to view the blossoms and picnic under them for a small donation. The blossoms however are white (which is not quite the same feel as the pink ones on Harris-Gully Road). If Aumann’s had an open weekend for their pink blossoms, it would definitely be a massive hit!

IMG_4353bIMG_5452IMG_5461IMG_4346bIMG_4321aThis year when I returned back to the cherry blossom garden, I noticed it wasn’t quite right. The blooms were as big  nor were they as pink. You can see the striking difference with the above photos (taken last year (2015)) and the ones below (taken this year (2016)). IMG_20160905_180815IMG_20160905_181252IMG_20160905_182238IMG_20160905_182324

5 Comments Add yours

  1. distancewide says:

    beautiful pictures and nice article

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      thankyou 😀

      Like

  2. Miriam says:

    Wow, the blossoms were stunning last year. Shame they’re not as vivid this year, I would have driven out to see them.

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      They are still pretty even though they aren’t as vivid as last year – buts defs go and have a look yourself when you get the time 😀 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        I might just do that. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

