Cafe life @ Mr Hendricks

IMG_1960nIMG_3232nIMG_1959nBeing an avid Instagramer (visit me here) like myself,  I like to keep up to date with all the cool roadtrip places and hip cafes around. For example,  I saw many people post about Mr Hendricks, so of course, I had to go and try it out for myself. Rarely do I go out into the city where all the cool and hip cafes are. Finding a nice cafe in the ‘burbs’ is like finding a gemstone.

Mr Hendricks is a small but cozy cafe, located on the busy Whitehorse Road. The first time I visited, it was after the peak lunch hour which was good, because it was only me and my mom, plus a few other tables drinking coffee and eating cakes. On the second time though, we arrived just 5 minutes before 12pm and what a massive difference it was -the place was jam-packed. We were lucky because a couple had just finished and left, so we got the table. As we sat down and began looking through the menu, I noticed a massive cue beginning to form.

The first time I went, I didn’t even have to look at the menu. I knew immediately what I wanted to try out, after seeing the many posts on Instagram: the New England Lobster Roll! There have been many times where I have eaten a meal and felt really heavy and sluggish by the end. Even after devouring many cups of green tea, I still  couldn’t cure  myself form that heavy feeling. I commend the lobster roll for being a very light and refreshing dish. It’s like eating a fresh summer prawn salad. The roll was soft, not hard and chewy like a baguette. The pieces of lobster were big and generous. The cos lettuce and the crunch of the apple pieces was a perfect combo – adding more freshness to the meal. I didn’t understand why the lemon was grilled on one side. I think it would have been better natural, rather than burnt and black on one side and normal on the other. In terms of guilty points, it was the mayo! That helped to tie all elements together.

IMG_1970n
Photo | The heavenly New England Lobster Roll – bliss in my mouth ❤

My mom had the Pulled Pork burger with thick cut sweet Potato chips. The chips were amazing – not too oily and full of flavor. The burger wasn’t that great though. The meat was dry, burnt and hard to swallow. Maybe we were just unlucky that day.

IMG_1966n
Photo | Pulled pork burger with thick cut sweet potato chips. Burger wasn’t that great because the meat was burnt and dry. The chips were good though 😀

On my second visit, I went with my foodie friend who ordered the New England Lobster roll and loved it. In her words, she said “maybe some melted cheese on top would have been nice”. The idea of cheese is tempting but I think it would make the roll too rich, and that heavy, sick feeling would strike again.

I had the Broccoli salad with honey toasted walnuts, freekah, feta and a poached egg. I didn’t really like the feta because it was too salty and cheesy. All the other elements were really good though. The broccolini was green and fresh. And oh-my-gosh, those honey toasted walnuts were amazing. Usually I don’t really like walnuts, but this time around, they were delicious. It was like eating salted caramel with an nutty element to it. I think the walnuts were the best element of the dish, helping to add flavour to every mouthful.IMG_3236n

IMG_3229n
Photo | Broccoli Salad with those toasted walnuts being the flavour bag of he dish – yum!

The next time I go, I must try the crispy eggs. I noticed a lot of people around me ordering it. Second to that, I need to try the avocado on toast too!! It is simple food like that, I like the most 😀

Overall, Mr Hendricks is your typical go-to place for brunch. The staff are smiley and friendly, the food is nice, and the atmosphere is positive. It can be a bit squishy in the main cafe during peak hour, but they do have a nice backyard style sitting area outside that is sheltered.

-Summary –

  1. Mr Hendricks is a small cozy cafe with friendly staff and a nice atmosphere
  2. Ordinary, simple food that is yum and flavorsome
  3. Reasonably priced. Check menu here
  4. Can get rather crowded during peak hour
  5. 8/10

 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Wow, that lobster roll sounds delicious. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. flabnbone says:

      so yum haha 😀😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jmnowak says:

    A coupla the fotos you must’ve been hanging off the ceiling…great effort. The lobster roll sounds right up my alley! 😋

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      Definitely very yummy! I think the cafe have changed their menue and the lobster roll is now served on a charcoal bun which im not too sure i want to try haha

      Like

      1. jmnowak says:

        So, were you hanging from the roof to take this pic?

        Like

      2. flabnbone says:

        haha no that would be impossible! I stood up and held the camera up high (from a birds eye perspective) to take those photos : D

        Liked by 1 person

      3. jmnowak says:

        Thought so…I would’ve got on the chair, so that I could look thru the viewfinder otherwise you never know what you’re gonna get just pointing! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

