Figs on Toast

IMG_9869

I’m the type of person that never skips meals, especially breakfast. I like to keep my meals simple but nutritious. With placement requiring early morning wakes, I have been indulging on Figs on Toast on most days. It’s quick and easy to make, but more importantly, it’s pack with a heck load of nutrients to kick start my day.

Prior to discovering this tasty treat, I was having your standard cheese and tomato toasties; poached eggs with avocado and asparagus; milk and oats etc… It all got a bit boring, and suddenly I thought, why don’t I give figs on toast a go (after seeing recipes featured everywhere and everyone banging on about how good figs are for you). So I gave it a try and loved it to bits.

IMG_9815IMG_9817IMG_9812

Things on Toast:

  • Wholemeal  multi-grain bread x 2 slices
  • Figs x 1
  • Strawberries, Blueberries & Banana sliced
  • Ricotta Cheese
  • A dollop of honey
  • Cinnamon x 1/4 teaspoon
  • A sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds x handful

The first time I made figs on toast, it was literally just figs on toast with some ricotta. It tasted a bit bland, so the second time I made it, I added in some honey, cinnamon and sesame seeds. They boosted the flavor by heaps, but I felt like it was still missing some oomph, so the third time I made it, I added in  blueberries, sliced strawberries and banana – and suddenly it was like absolute bliss and heaven!

If I don’t have this for breaky, this is my go-to-meal after coming home form placement. That, along with fresh coconut water is my kind of heaven haha 😀

IMG_8066IMG_8052IMG_9866

4 Comments Add yours

  1. LitaKino says:

    Awwww this is inspiring me for breakfasts as I can get sick of weet a bix and bananas just on their own but I am terrible for skipping breakfasts so this post has inspired me a little lol

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      awww you’re welcome 😀 I like to experiment with food, so Im happy I stumbled upon this combo of fruity goodness

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    This sounds sooooo good. Love all of these ingredients but never thought of putting them all together on toast. Yum 🙂

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      haha you should try! It tastes so good together : D

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

