The hills are alive@ Yarra Glen

a place

IMG_7257

Ever since university holidays started, I have been on more road-trips than I can count.  I would love to do some longer trips though. In particular, I’ve been eyeing the Victorian High Country and the Great Alpine Road for a while now. In the meanwhile, I am happy with my smaller trips around the Yarra Valley. Yes, this blog is totally biased towards the Yarra Valley.Never have I fallen so love with a place before- the Yarra Valley never ceases to amaze me with its green beauty.

IMG_7260
Photo: This little beast has taken me to many crazy places as we soared through open roads, up mountains paths, and various windy forests roads. Together, we have been on many wonderful roadtrips and trust me, there will be more to come! As my mom always to me, without him, my knowledge about Melbourne and it’s little gems would be close to nothing.

A few weeks ago I went on a drive to Yarra Glen about 40km north-east of Melbourne. Yarra Glen is my favorite part of the Yarra Valley region because it’s so green, it’s so peaceful and it’s so beautiful there. It’s very different to other parts of the Yarra Valley such as the Dandenong Ranges and Marysville where it is ladened in forest, and Warburton where it is all mountain and bush land.

IMG_7281

IMG_7286
Photo: What’s not to love about the Yarra Valley? Stunning views all around, peaceful farmlands and luxurious wineries.

When I went to Yarra Glen, I didn’t really have a destination in mind. It was mainly just following the open road and cruising around the area. I did, however, stop at the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Ice-Creamery for lunch and cakes (yet again!) We had a pulled pork baguette, and a tandoori chicken  baguette. Dessert was a large large large scone with fresh cream and jam, and a passion-fruit cheesecake.

IMG_7229

IMG_7231
Photo: A very creamy Passion-fruit Cheesecake.

IMG_7224

IMG_7230
Photo: The biggest scone I have ever seen! I liked how the surface of it was very crunchy, almost like eating a biscuit, but the inside was fluffy and soft.
IMG_7253
Photo: A flatlay of our Pulled Pork and Tandoori Chicken baguettes.
IMG_7242
Photo: A flatlay of our dessert because what kind of meal would be complete without dessert?

We sat outside on the veranda, taking in the beautiful hilly view. It was a wonderful summer’s day, with the perfect amount of sun and cool breeze. I felt so carefree, with nothing to think about but only where to go next after lunch. It’s been a while since I felt so relaxed because by nature I am quite an anxious person, always replaying scenes in my head and thinking for the worst.

IMG_7214
Photo: Sitting outside on the veranda, looking out to this gorgeous view. I would love to wake up to this sight everyday ❤

With our stomachs filled to the brim, we continued our drive around Yarra Glen. In the midst of doing a U-turn, I said, “oh hey, there’s actually something down there”, so we followed the driveway down to find a winery with spectacular views and a lovely restaurant where people were enjoying some fine dining. I don’t recall the name of it, just that it was off Melba Highway and very close to the Yarra Valley Chocolaterie. Checking google maps later on, it may have been Yarrawood Estate.

IMG_7269

IMG_7266
Photo: Lovely restaurant at the winery with outdoor seating that overlooks the lash vineyard and mountainous backdrop.

The views at the winery were so beautiful, I just wanted to lay on the grass and not move. I was definitely in my element and felt more comfortable there than I have ever been anywhere else (excluding my house of course haha).

I love how everything is so green and vibrant. It makes the landscape that much more fresh and beautiful. It’s frightening to think that across the sea, in other parts of the world, people are fighting for their lives as war and other political movement take over. I know nothing about politics and the like, so being naive to it all, I can safely say, I am happy to be in my little safe haven.

IMG_7219IMG_7282IMG_7270

IMG_7287
Photo: Dead gorgeous views at Yarrawood Estate.

With placements in full-swing, and university about to start, roadtrip season is nearing an end. I cannot believe three months of summer holidays are nearly at an end. Where did the time go!?

Although my mind will be in the books, my heart will forever be thinking wanderlust, travel and adventure. Do you have any “must-visit” places in the Yarra Valley? Leave a comment and I will definitely check it out.

IMG_7280IMG_7294

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Great post. There’s an awesome winery at Panton Hill (it’s called Panton Hill Vineyard and Winery) that is well worth checking out. It looks reminiscent of Tuscany, stone buildings, beautiful courtyards, the owner makes jewellery and the wines are exquisite. It’s about 25 minutes from Yarra Glen.

    Like

    1. flabnbone says:

      Thanks for the suggestion. I just did a google search and the place looks gorgeous. I love how it has that old European medieval feel to it. Will definitely check it out when I get time 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Miriam says:

        It really is gorgeous, in winter there’s a roaring fire in the huge fireplace and the tasting room has the medieval feel of Arthur and the Round Table. Hope you get to check it out.

        Like

      2. flabnbone says:

        Whow! That sounds amazing. I love anything medieval and European. If I don’t get around to it in summer, definitely going during the winter break : D thanks for that

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Miriam says:

        My absolute pleasure. 🙂 Enjoy.

        Like

Leave a Reply

