Tipsy Trifle Cake

IMG_7396

Welcoming the New Year with a baking session!

I was reading my mom’s New Idea Magazine and I saw the best recipe ever: Tipsy Trifle Cake.

Yes, I am a fan of custard, yes I am a fan of cake, and yes I am a fan of jelly and summer berries. What’s not more perfect than all those ingredients combined together into a cake?

Rather than follow the recipe exact, I always like to make my own adaptations. For example, I cut down on the sugar and rather than use Custard Powder as the recipe suggested, I went old-schooled and made my own homemade custard. If there was something useful to take home form high school cooking class, it was learning how to make a good custard 😀

IMG_7406

Ingredients: 

Sponge Cake Base

4 eggs (yolks+ whites)

1/2 Cup Caster Sugar (I reduced it to 1/4 cup)

2/3 Cup Plain Flour

25gram unsalted Butter, melted

1/3 cup sweet sherry (I didn’t put this in)

Milk (My add in -> add enough to ensure mixture isn’t too thick)

1/3 cup Raspberry Jam (I used way less -> just enough to spread over the cake)

Method *what the recipe said*

1. Beat eggs and sugar with electric mixer until thick.

2.Sift in flour.

3.Pour in melted butter

4.Bake for 30min.

I found using this method led the sponge cake to be very dense and hard. You want it to be light and fluffy. Also, baking a sponge for 30min is way too overdone for me.

Method *my way*

1.Separate yolks from whites.

2.Use electric mixer and beat the whites only. Gradually add in sugar. Keep mixing until whites have formed stiff peaks. Put aside.

3.In another bowl, sift in flour over yolks. Add in melted butter and mix. Also add in some milk, just enough so mixture isn’t overly thick.

4.Fold the white mixture into yolk mixture. Do not mix as that will let air inside and deflate the egg whites. Once folded, pour into cake tin and bake for 15-20min,

5. Once cake has cooled, take it out from tin and spread raspberry jam over top. Could also pour sherry on top for cake to soak up.

Custard Layer (Middle)

4 eggs (yolks only!!)

1/4 Cup Caster Sugar

1 tablespoons Vanilla Essence

1 Cup Milk

1/4 Cup Plain Flour

2 teaspoons Gelatine + 2 tablespoons water to dissolve

300ml thickened cream

Method: Rather than following the recipe and use Custard Power, I made my own custard using this recipe I have been following since high school days:

1.Pour milk and vanilla essence into saucepan and heat it up (not to boiling point).

2. In another bowl, mix yolks with sugar and flour

3. Pour warm milk into yolks, mixing thoroughly to avoid lumps.

4. Pour entire mixture back into saucepan and bring to boil, mixing throughout.

5. After custard has FULLY cooled, add in gelatin and water.

6. Meanwhile use electric mixer to whip the cream and fold into custard mixture.

7. Spread custard cream mixture over the sponge cake base (MAKE SURE CAKE HAS COOLED).

8. Set in fridge for 2 hours.

Jelly Layer (Top)

Fresh Raspberries

85g Raspberry Jelly Crystals

1 Cup Boiling Water

Method

1.Make jelly as per instructions on the packet. Rather than refrigerate jelly overnight, take it out from fridge after about 45min-1hr.  The texture should look like it is starting to thicken but not quite.

2. After the cake and custard have set for two hours, and jelly has been set in fridge for about an hour, remove both cake and jelly from fridge. Dot fresh raspberries onto the custard and spoon the jelly mixture onto of the custard layer.

3. Refrigerate over night!

4. And ta-dah you are done 😀

IMG_7399

One Comment Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    Yum, what an awesomely delicious looking summer dish!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

